My first thoughts of owning a Moto guzzi bellagio 940 luxury. Road test and review.

20130720_141944

The reason behind wanting a Bellagio was to find a shaft bike cruiser. I read reviews on MCN, Visordown, Kevin Ash Telegraph, Independent, and other sites. All seemed to mention that this bike handled better than most other cruisers and was better on performance.

I think Overall Seat height is a little low for me. Could be a bonus for some one else. Sound of the standard pipes was quiet. It changed completely with a set of Mistral performance pipes.

For Quality and Reliability It failed on a blown fuse and a dirty battery connection. It would be hard to mark it down on items that are normal service items. The bike started on the press of the button in all weathers.

Value and Running costs on the bike were very low. I maintained the bike myself and carried out servicing. The dealer serviced it before I took it away and I carried out two services. Only the cost of air filters, oil filters, rocker gaskets, diff oil etc was changed. Very simple to service as the tappets do not need any special tools.

For ride quality see below but the most miles I covered was 600 miles on the bike. It had the luxury comfort seat and is a comfortable bike with a relaxed  seating position. Handling in the beginning was terrible until I found some one had altered the settings. Putting them back to standard and then changing a couple of notches improved it dramatically. Brembo brakes could not be faulted.

The engine is great as it is so simple to service. Tappets are easy to adjust with no tools. Twin fuel injection. Air filters easy to get to. Only the oil filter which you have to take the sump off takes a little time. I researched Moto Guzzis and found several sites with older models that had done over 250000 miles on a standard engine. I think taking the sump off aids to making sure the engine is clean of any foreign build up. I have an older California II 1982 and its engine looks the same as the Bellagio.

The bike you see had extra equipment. It came with the Moto Guzzi oem leather saddle bags which did not like wet weather but looked great and was very handy with the inserts that just pulled out. It would have been nice to have a tacho although it is not really a bike for that.

I bought my Bellagio from a Motorcycle dealer as I found it hard to find one private. They sold quickly and I believe it will be a sought after model as not many were made. When I sold mine the sale was quick and lots of enquires.
My first picture of the Moto Guzzi Bellagio 940 luxury (2010 model). I picked it up from a dealer and with just over a thousand miles on the clock.This picture was when I was home after travelling over 100 miles to pick it up.

My first impressions were not good as the suspension was very soft, which made the bike wallow in the corners. The clutch master cylinder was leaking fluid. The bike itself to ride felt very flat, not responsive to use of the throttle, which could be because it has not been used much.

After a couple of days and adding two hundred miles the speedo reads 1300 miles. I am pleased with the bike. Having put the correct tyre pressures of 2.3 kpa front and 2.50kpa in the back tyre. A simple check of tyre pressures can make a big difference.

Also adjusting all the suspension settings to standard. This then improved the bikes handling, although it made it too firm for me. I then have taken 2 clicks softer on each setting and the bike seems to have improved. The ride is softer and it does not feel as though the suspension is bottoming out.
I have filled the tank up with petrol and am testing its 19 litre capacity. Looking at the clocks using the mode to find out how many mpg the bike achieves can vary from over 51mpg to 15mpg depending on the throttle usage. I feel the real test will be when I fill up with petrol next.
The bike has had a modification done to the starting wiring with a 2.5 guage wire replacing the original 1.5 guage wire. The dealer mentioned that on previous models this caused the fuse to blow. I have done searches on the Moto Guzzi Bellagio 940 but not found any issues mentioned. Also this covered other Moto Guzzi models in the range.
The Moto Guzzi literature mentions the bikes ability to use the gears 5 and 6 for cruising. This seems to be correct as when working the bike through the gears. It feels as though the revs drop and the mpg improves with each change up the gearbox. It depends on your riding but the top gears mean it takes a while to respond to throttle movement. Maybe more tuning will help with a free flowing exhausts or adding more miles. To me the engine has done too few miles to be run it yet.

Do you own a bellagio? What do you think of yours?

Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider
14 thoughts on “My first thoughts of owning a Moto guzzi bellagio 940 luxury. Road test and review.

    • It will pull from low down but is 75 bhp with a 940 cc engine. With a handful of throttle it can pull. It feels happiest using some revs to move. Vibrations are minimal as the mirrors can be used all the time. The handle bars are rubber mounted. If put in top gear and allowed to drive at low speed it will feel like the v twin is vibrating but very little reaches the hands or body. In 300 miles there has been no idiosyncrasies observed. Just smiles and relaxed cruising so far.

      • Oh goodness you have a Ducati 916! I kinda hate you now cos you got The Bike that I have always wanted. I’m going to start following your blog and be comforted that at least I’m not the one with a bike that gave me quite a bit of problems. 😀

  1. Hello,
    With no rev counter available as standard on the Bellagio, it’ difficult to know how high you can go in the revs…
    Guzzi do not give the max speeds with each gear ratio. Any idea of where this can be obtained ? I’ asked the manufacturer but did not get any answer…
    Thanks and regards from France.
    JP/

      • No they were not all fitted with a rev counter. The idea is to determine which is the most efficient way of using the engine, not to look for perfs.
        The counter doe just that and when you know at which speed(s) in a given ration the performance is best, it becomes useless.
        If I could get my hands on info that would give me the maximum speeds allowed in each gear ratio, that would do the job just as well…

  2. As far as best/most efficient rpm for any given speed is concerned. Almost all engines run optimal at 80% load. Feel the torque so the engine is neither free wheeling nor strugling. Watching the rpm on a bike/car is only useful if you redline with each gear change and dont have a limiter.

    • Lukas Thanks for your comments. The bike did change when I added more miles and fitted the exhausts. Both had a good effect on the feel and running of the bike. Due to the mileage the bike was very tight. The exhausts also added a lovely tone and helped to free the engine from restrictions. As to no tacho when riding the bike this was not needed as most of the time with a cruiser, it is the lower pulling that is required. It was a lovely bike to ride

  3. Had mine from new since 2010, though i Think it’s an earlier model, and i love it. I’ve told my wife it’s the last thing i’ll be Selling 😜.Just passed 20,000 km with no problems other Than a couple of fuses blowing and gunge from the breather tube( put a small bottle on the tube to catch it ) I dont Think there are more Than a handfull of Them here in Denmark. Longest trip was to italy in 2011,Moto guzzi 90 years jubilee at Lake Como, rode back in One go.
    Lovely bike, mine is still standard 😃

    • I hope you have fixed the blowing fuse. I updated in the blog from a moto guzzi mechanic how I managed to stop mine from repeating again. Yes I agree that they are a lovely bike and will be a collectable as not many have been made.

  4. I’ve had mine since 2008. A few niggling things like blown fuses and rocker gaskets leaking (now sorted with metal gaskets). Other than that, no problems at all. Currently has 47000km on the clock, 35000 of those are touring K’s and it tours very nicely indeed. Could do with being a single seat bike though as taking a pillion upsets the handling too much. The idea now is to turn it into the perfect touring bike. Single seat, rack, different handlebars, brighter headlight (the standard light is pretty ordinary), hard panniers (not the Guzzi items), performance exhaust. The engine is quite tractable for only 75bhp and just purrs along at 110 or 120ks, effortless and smooth. Handling is as you would expect from a sort of cruiser but it will leave every other cruiser looking ponderous and even shakes up some of the more sporty bikes in the twisties if ridden properly. It does have some vibrations but that is part of the beauty of the Italian marque.
    Not many sold here in Australia either. A lot of people missed the boat on this one.

    • Graeme lovely to hear you are enjoying the Bellagio. I had to put all the settings back to normal for the suspension as some one had changed them all and it handled like a 1970s classic jap bike. Once i set this to standard and worked again, it improved to what it should be. I hope yours has been set up correctly. As you say with a different exhaust the bellagio sounds lovely. look forward to hearing yours. Vinnychoff

Leave a Reply

